Accessible Services

Broadway In Boston has an ongoing commitment to building new audiences and making theatre accessible for all patrons. During each season, Broadway In Boston offers Audio Described, Open Captioned, and American Sign Language performances for most productions at the Boston Opera House. If you would like to receive emails about upcoming accessible performances, please email ADABoston@BroadwayInBoston.com and note your interest in Audio Description, American Sign Language, and/or Open Captioning.

Audio Description

Audio description is a live narration of the visual aspects of the performance broadcasted to visually impaired patrons who wear a small receiver (headset). This narration includes pre-show descriptions of the theatre and of the costume and scenic elements as well as narration of blocking and choreography between the show’s dialogue and musical numbers.

Open Captioning

Open Captioning is a form of accessibility for the deaf and hard of hearing population in the United States. The c2net.org website describes Open Captioning as “text displayed simultaneous to live speech, dialogue or performance”. This technology is now utilized by theaters nationwide. It provides hearing impaired patrons with the complete script and song text for live performances on small screens directly adjacent to audience seating. For more comprehensive information on Open Captioning visit www.c2net.org.

American Sign Language

During American Sign Language performances, skilled theatrical Interpreters use American Sign Language to interpret the performances on stage. The Interpreters work with a Deaf ASL Consultant to translate the production into American Sign Language. The audience can see both the Interpreters and the stage action simultaneously.



To join our Accessibility Services email list to receive information about performances or to order tickets by email, please email ADABoston@BroadwayInBoston.com



All upcoming performances are at the Boston Opera House



Get tickets in person: Boston Opera House Box Office, 539 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Box Office Hours: Monday-Friday 10am-5pm
Get tickets by phone: (617) 880-2419



HAMILTON



Please note the below dates for relevant performances.

ASL Performances

Saturday, 10/6 at 2pm

Thursday, 11/1 at 7:30pm

Click here to purchase.


Audio Described Performances

Sunday, 9/23 at 1pm

Wednesday, 10/17 at 7:30pm

Click here to purchase.


Open Captioned Performances

Saturday, 9/22 at 2pm

Tuesday, 11/6 at 7:30pm

Click here to purchase.





THE PLAY THAT GOES WRONG



Emerson Colonial Theatre

ASL Performance

Saturday, November 17, 2018 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, November 11, 2018 at 1pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, November 10, 2018 at 2pm





CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, January 19, 2019 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, January 13, 2019 at 1pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 2pm





BEAUTIFUL: THE CAROL KING MUSICAL



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, February 09, 2019 at 2pm

Get tickets here


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, February 03, 2019 at 1pm

Get tickets here


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, February 02, 2019 at 2pm

Get tickets here





SCHOOL OF ROCK



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, February 23, 2019 at 2pm

Get tickets here


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, February 17, 2019 at 1pm

Get tickets here


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 2pm

Get tickets here





A BRONX TALE



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, April 13, 2019 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, April 07, 2019 at 1pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, April 06, 2019 at 2pm





LES MISERABLES



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, April 27, 2019 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Saturday, April 27, 2019 at 2pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, April 20, 2019 at 2pm





MISS SAIGON



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, June 16, 2019 at 1pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 2pm





DEAR EVAN HANSEN



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, July 20, 2019 at 2pm

Saturday, August 03, 2019 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, July 14, 2019 at 1pm

Sunday, July 28, 2019 at 1pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, July 13, 2019 at 2pm

Saturday, July 27, 2019 at 2pm





HELLO, DOLLY!



Boston Opera House

ASL Performance

Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 2pm


Audio Described Performance

Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 1pm


Open Captioned Performance

Saturday, August 17, 2019 at 2pm

*Dates and performance information are subject to change.
Shows Subscriptions Theaters Buzz